?

Log in

21 February 2010 @ 11:39 pm
Title: Love★Com Vol. 2 (Aka Lovely★Complex)
Author: Aya Nakahara
Genre: Shoujo / Romance
Format: Paperback Manga

Rating:

Synopsis:
The story of the all Hanshin-Kyojin returns in volume two of Love★Com!  If you read volume one you'll remember that near the end Risa and Ootani decided to make a bet over who would get a date first, well within this volume things seem to get even more confusing.  Firstly the appearance of Ootani's ex-girlfriend begins to stir up some feelings within Risa, especially when she accidentally gives off the impression that she and Ootani are dating.  Later on another key player appears: Haruka, Risa's childhood friend.  He's a gorgeous boy with model-like features, and crazy about Risa (literally crazy).  All this crazieness leads up to a big event in Japan: Valentines Day!!

Review:
I really liked the second volume of this series.  Things seem to be becoming more complex between Risa and Ootani, at least on Risa's side.  I love how the plot is forcing Risa to question her relationship with Ootani, yet she still tries to set her feelings aside to help her out.  Although I thought it was a little cliche that Risa broke down crying during the Christmas Concert scene, but aside from that everything is pretty great.  I was surprised when Haruka showed up, I can't tell if I like him or hate him yet.  He's a slightly annoying character, so we'll see what happens with him in future volumes.  Hopefully the fighting between him and Ootani won't get too old~  And I'd like to mention another thing I like: the author's random blurbs!  Nakahara is deffinitely a bizzare author, so don't miss out on the blurbs she writes througout the book.  They had me laughing so hard at some parts.  All in all another pretty interesting volume of Love★Com.
 
 
Current Location: home
Current Mood: geekygeeky
Current Music: 赤西仁 - A PAGE (Bluetuesdai Remix) | Powered by Last.fm
 
 
21 February 2010 @ 07:09 pm
Title: Love★Com Vol.1 (Aka Lovely★Complex)
Author: Aya Nakahara
Genre: Shoujo / Romance
Format: Paperback Manga

Rating:

Synopsis: 
Year 1 Class 2 has it's very own comedy duo, the famous All Hansin Kyojin!!  One half of the duo is Risa Koizumi, the tallest girl in her class she struggles with her height and it's affect on her relationships with guys.  Risa is constantly getting thrown together with Atsushi Ootani, the shortest boy in class who also suffers the same complex.  The two are constantly fighting with each other, yet everyone around them things that they make a good pair.  In fact it's hard for them to convince their class that they're not going out.  Then, during suplementary classes over summer break, Ootani proposes instead of fighting the two work together to get their crushes.

Review:
The first time I took a look at this story it was in a volume of Shoujo Beat magazine, even back then I really enjoyed it.  It's cute and funny and keeps you wanting more.  Every time Koizumi and Ootani get close you think "Oh man, this is it!"  But then it never is!  It's that kind of suspenseful love-hate sort of relationship that makes this series special and enjoyable.  I also like how the characters are not too destined or too plain, there's always the opportunity for things to go in a completely opposite direction.  The art is also pretty nice, despite my personal dislike for the giant-eyed shoujo style I found this manga to be not too over the top, and the people were not too beautiful like you sometimes see.  It's a believable story with believable characters.  I also like how Ootani 'coming to the rescue' isn't made overly cliche, it remains interesting.  Totally looking forward to more.
 
 
Current Location: home
Current Mood: cheerfulcheerful
Current Music: 赤西仁 - A PAGE (Bluetuesdai Remix) | Powered by Last.fm
 
 
05 February 2010 @ 09:56 pm
Title: Wrong About Japan
Author: Peter Carey
Format: Hardcover Novel, 158pgs

Rating:
☆☆

Synopsis:
Author Peter Carey discribes his own personal adventures as a forgeiner in Japan.  After Peter's son, Charley, sparks an interest in the world of anime and manga, he too begins to take an interest in Japanese culture and life.  The two of them become avid fans of Japan, and decide to take a trip there to 'discover the real Japan'.  They are faced with many cultural barriers as they meet all sorts of famous anime and manga creators such as Tomino (Gundam), Kitakubo (Blood: The Last Vampire), and Hayao Miyazaki (Totoro, etc).  Through interviewing these people and making their own inferences the two foreigners find out that they were very wrong about Japan.

Review:

I actually found this to be quiet an interesting book, and it seems weird that the first ever review on a Japanese Anime/Manga/Drama review blog would be a book written by an Australian-born American man and his son visiting the country.  However, their situation about Japan does apply to my own.  In the beginning it describes Charley's first taste of anime, and his gorwing passion for Japan, which then hooks in his father.  The book of course is written from a father's perspective, and it's interesting to see how he was wrong about Japan, but also wrong about his teenage son.  As well, the book makes a lot of references to well known anime, manga, and Japanese cultural icons, while also revealing some information about them.  The author chooses to site many other works within the retelling of his story to better illustrate the facts about Japan.  I think that, while this book can be a little bit annoying at times (Peter is after all an adult with a very 'adult' and boring way of thinking) it also makes you feel at home, while letting you explore more and more of a country that you love.  The book is very short, as it only encompases their short trip, but it is still very interesting and helpful to those who are planning on going to Japan, a few interesting places like the SEGA World and the Ghibli Museum.  It might not be the most comprehensive travel guide around, but it's extremely interesting to read.
 
 
Current Location: home
Current Mood: accomplishedaccomplished
Current Music: Super Junior - Angela | Powered by Last.fm
 
 
05 February 2010 @ 09:23 pm
This post will be updated with profiles of actors, actresses, and musicians I like and/or am familiar with.  Each profile will also include a short comment on why I like them.  Please stay tuned!

Japanese
Females
Males

Korean
Females
Males


Japanese - Females





Japanese - Males




Last updated: 24/04/2011.
Tags:
 
 
05 February 2010 @ 09:22 pm
Do you have any comments or suggestions? 
Do you have questions about this community, or the reviewing process? 
Do you want to see something reviewed by me before you decided whether it's worth watching?

If you answered yes to any of these questions or more, feel free to comment here!  I'm open to suggestions from anyone and I want to know what you think, so don't feel afraid to leave your opinions here.  (But I ask you to also please give constructive and polite criticism only!) 

Also, if you feel there's something I'm missing out on, go ahread and request a show or book you'd like to get reviewed!  I'll try my best to complete all your requests in a timely fashion (in fact I'll probably spend more time on them than my own watch list if you ask!).


Request Rules:

☆ You may NOT request books that are not written by Japanese authors, or are not about Japan. 
ex. Harry Potter is a no go.  But Memoirs of a Geisha is perfectly allowed.  (It contains content about Japan.)

★ You may NOT request anything rated 18+.  I don't plan on reviewing anything pornographic (some adult concepts are okay if it's in good taste), and I also don't do too well with horror or violence, so it'll be hard for me to watch these things, let alone give a fair review.  As well, this community is open to EVERYONE, so I would like to keep it all ages.  I will, however, use adult content locks and warnings when necessary.

☆ You MAY request from other Asian countries, such as Korea, Taiwan, etc.  However these will take second priority to those which center around Japan as it is the main focus of this community. 

★ Please check the Archives first before requesting a review.  You can also check my Pending Review post to see if I have already watched/read what you are interested in seeing, you can still request reviews on those things pending review!

☆ Please mark all requests by putting "Request" in the comment title! This will allow me to find them more easily, and get to them faster.



Feel free to leave your comments below and I will be happy to respond to them as soon as I can!
 
 
Current Mood: accomplishedaccomplished
 
 
 
05 February 2010 @ 09:22 pm
The pending review list contains things that I have watched/read but have not reviewed yet.  Though this post is mostly for my own record you may request a review of anything seen here (or anything NOT seen here) in the Feedback & Request Post.


Anime | Dramas | Manga | Music | Novels | Other
*Remember you can also use ctrl+f to search for a specific title


Anime

Shaman King
AIR
Air Gear
Mythical Detective Loki Ragnarok
Yumeria
Innocent Venus
Aishiteruze Baby
Lucky Star
Ouran High School Host Club
Puchi Puri Yushi
Spirited Away (Movie)
Tokyo Mew Mew
Venus Versus Virus
AIR (Movie)
Mobile Suit GundamSEED
.hack//SIGN
.hack//Legend of The Twilight
.hack//Unison
.hack//LIMINALITY
Myself; Yourself
InuYasha (Certain Seasons Only!)


Dramas

Nobuta wo Produce
STAND UP!
14sai no Haha
Gachi Baka
My Boss, My Hero
Code Blue
1 Litre of Tears
Sore wa Totsusen Arashi no You ni
Dragon Zakura
Q.E.D. Shoumei Shuuryou
Ie ga Tooi
Ryuusei no Kizuna
Gokusen I & SP
Gokusen II
Gokusen III & SP
Engine
Kurosagi
Kurosagi The Movie
PPOI
Mei-chan no Shitsuji
Atashinchi no Danshi
RESCUE
MR. BRAIN
The Quiz Show II
Baby and Me (Movie) [Korean]
Tokyo Boy (Movie)
Nin x Nin: Ninja Hatori-kun (Movie)
Attack On The Pin-Up Boys (Movie) [Korean]
Buzzer Beat
Orthros no Inu
Ninkyo Helper
Dance Drill aka DanDori
Yukan Club
Gokusen The Movie
Bloody Monday


Manga

- to be added


Music

- to be added, refer to this list for CDs I own/am willing to review.


Novels

After Dark, Murakami Haruki
Sputnik Sweetheart, Murakami Haruki
A Hundred More Things Japanese, Japan Culture Institute



Other

Textbook - Japanese for Everyone
 
 
05 February 2010 @ 09:21 pm
Anime | Dramas | Manga | Music | Novels | Other
* In order to find a certain series hit control+f and type in the name, author, etc.

Anime

- none yet


Dramas

- none yet

Manga

[21.02.10.] Love★Com Vol. 1, Aya Nakahara.
[21.02.10.] Love★Com Vol. 2, Aya Nakahara.

Music

- none yet


Novels

[05.02.10.] Wrong About Japan, Peter Carey. 


Other

- none yet


Last Updated: 26.02.10
Tags:
 
 
15 August 2009 @ 09:25 pm
Welcome to nippon_review !  This is a review community run by itskeitodesu  to review Japanese anime, manga, dramas, music, novels, etc.  You may also find reviews of works from other asian countries, or reviews of work based on (but not written in) Japan.  I hope you will enjoy my review comments and rating and find them useful.


Important Links


Archive Post - The place to find already completed reviews.  This is the easiest way to find something you're looking for!

Feedback & Requests Post -  If you have any comments, questions or suggestions for this community please post them here.  You may also request a review in this post.

Pending Review - More for my own record, things I have watched/read but not reviewed yet.  Feel free to check them out!


Rating Scheme


Every review is rated on a six star scale (this way there is no middle).  The ratings are as follows:


PINK STAR.  This is reserved for the most wonderful of all things.  You HAVE to watch or read this.  If you don't something will be missing from your life.


GREEN STAR.  This is a really great show or book, I recommend it!


GREEN-YELLOW STAR. This show or book is pretty good, I enjoyed reading it and you might too!


YELLOW STAR.  This book or show is alright, but not worth watching again.  I probably wouldn't recommend it.


ORANGE STAR.  What is this crap?  Are you kidding me?  This isn't worth watching.


RED STAR.  So bad it will make your eyes bleed, dispose of this immeadiately.  This something is probably so bad I either couldn't make it through it, or had to violently force myself to make it to the end.


Tag Descriptions


!tags - tags marked with an ! are important posts.
+tags - tags marked with a + at the beginning refer to the type of material being reviewed. these are the same categories materials are sorted under in the archive post.
g:tags - tags beginning with g refer to the genre of the material.
~tags - tags marked with a ~ refer to the length of the material, such as series, OVA, movie, etc.  This is not only used for anime/dramas but as well for books (ie. a series of manga).
★ - these stars represent the rating the review recieved.



Note: this is a REVIEW community.  The reviews are based solely on my own opinions.  I do not take ownership for any of the materials, characters, music, etc. discussed in this community.  Nor am I affiliated with or sponsored by any of them.  I will try to be as UNBIASED as possible when writing my reviews, however everyone has their own likes/dislikes and biases, therefore everything stated here is simply MY opinion.  I am not trying to bash or harass anyone or anything.  If you disagree with any of my reviews you are welcome to comment in a calm and educated way with your own opinion.